As of October 1, 2013, it will be illegal to text while driving in the State of Florida. This year the Governor signed the “Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law.” According to the statute, “a person may not operate a motor vehicle while manually typing or entering multiple letters, numbers, symbols, or other characters into a wireless communications device.” A person may also not operate a motor vehicle while sending or reading data on such a device for the purpose of non-voice communication, including communication such as texting, e-mailing, and instant messaging. A first offense, will be a nonmoving violation with a fine of $30 dollars .
If you’re ticketed a second time for the same offense within five years of the prior incident, the penalty will be a moving violation punishable by a $60 dollar fine. Furthermore, if you’re involved in an accident, law enforcement can subpoena your phone records and six points will be added to your driver’s license if you are found guilty.
The law makes texting and driving a secondary offense which means you cannot be pulled over for violating this law. The officer has to pull you over for something else other than texting. A violation of this law for the first time will cost you thirty dollars.
To Read Senate Bill 52, click here.Tags: texting while driving